Skip to main content

Alumni Resources FAQs

This guide provides answers to common questions that Fowler School of Law alumni have about Law Library services.

Borrowing Material

May I borrow materials?

Chapman Law School and University alumni may borrow circulating material from the collection with an official Chapman Alumni Membership ID Card, which can be obtained from the University's Alumni ID request page.

Do you have MCLE self-study materials?

The Law Library does not collect recent MCLE self-study materials.

Computing

Where can I make copies?

There are copiers on the first and second floors of the Law Library. Copies cost 10 cents per page, and you can pay with cash. 

Is there wireless?

There is guest access to the Chapman Open wireless network. Information on device registration is available from the Chapman IS&T Wireless Network webpage.

Legal Research Assistance

Can you advise on legal research?

We can help brainstorm research strategies; suggest resources to try; direct you to items in the Law Library; show you how to use a database; and more - just ask us at the Research Desk (714-628-2548 / lawlib@chapman.edu). 

Legal Research Databases

Do I have access to any research databases?

Alumni visitors may access certain legal research databases while in the Law Library. Databases that do not require an individual user name and password may be accessed by using one of the legal research terminals located on the first floor of the Law Library. This includes access to CEBOnLaw, ProQuest databases, and more, including Fastcase which contains primary law and functions similarly to Lexis and Westlaw.

CEB Pro

Fowler School of Law graduates from the Class of 2019 are eligible for certain offers from CEB, including access to CEB Pro for a limited time. Please contact the Law Library Research Desk for more information (714-628-2548 or lawlib@chapman.edu).

Graduate Use of Bloomberg, Lexis Advance, and Westlaw

Please review the chart below for information on using Bloomberg, Lexis, and Westlaw for up to six months following graduation from the Fowler School of Law:

Database Graduate Access
Bloomberg Continuing unlimited, unrestricted access for any purpose for six months following graduation date. No additional sign-up needed.
Lexis Advance Automatic enrollment in the Graduate Program with continuing access until Dec. 31, 2019 for May 2019 Fowler School of Graduates.
Westlaw Continuing access for six months after graduation, for up to 60 hours a month if you enroll in Grad Elite. May not use for research that is billed to a client.

Following the six month period, alumni may access primary authority and certain secondary sources on Westlaw and Lexis Advance at the Orange County Public Law Library in Santa Ana. Visit its Databases webpage for more information.

Library Hours and Policies

What are your hours?

Our current hours may be found on the Law Library homepage. Hours are extended during the Law School's Reading Period and Final Exams.

May I eat and drink in the Law Library?

Food and beverages are allowed.

Do I need to show identification when visiting?

Please show your Chapman Student ID (recent graduates) or your Chapman Alumni Membership ID card to Law Library staff when entering the Law Library.

Study Rooms

May I reserve a study room for bar preparation?

Fowler School of Law alumni preparing for the Bar Exam may reserve study rooms. Please contact the Circulation Desk for assistance at (714) 628-2552.