Skip to main content
libguides-logo

Selected Resources for the Entertainment Law Clinic

Welcome

The Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library at the Fowler School of Law at Chapman University offers a variety of resources to support your work with the Entertainment Law Clinic. Click on the hyperlinked title of the resource to access the Law Library catalog record for the item. If there is no hyperlink, the resource is only available online. Click on the database icon— for Bloomberg Law,  for CEB OnLAW,  for Lexis, and  for Westlaw—to access the resource online. If there is no icon, the resource is only available in print at the Law Library. To find materials not on this list, use the Law Library catalog.

Negotiating and Drafting Agreements

Hollywood Dealmaking: Negotiating Talent Agreements for Film, TV, and New Media (2nd ed.). Dina Appleton & Daniel Yankelevits. Each chapter covers a different type of agreement and concludes with a “deal point summary,” or checklist of issues to consider when preparing or negotiating the agreement. Appendix A contains sample contracts. KF390.A7 A67 2010 (Second Floor)

Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists (4th ed.). Tad Crawford. Forms and guidance for visual artists. Sample contracts cover everything from the sale and licensing of artwork through a release form for models and leasing agreements for work space. The included CD contains electronic versions of all forms. KF 390 .A7 C68 2014 (Second Floor)

Entertainment Industry Contracts: Negotiating and Drafting Guide. Donald C. Farber, ed. This 10-volume set, updated annually, provides extensive and detailed coverage of the subject with form agreements throughout. The forms are accompanied by commentary explaining each clause. KF 2932 .E57 (Second Floor) Also on Lexis

Lindey on Entertainment, Publishing, and the Arts: Agreements and the Law (3rd ed.). Alexander Lindey & Michael Landau. A comprehensive set updated annually. KF2992 .L56 (Second Floor) Also on Westlaw

Entertainment Law: Forms and Analysis. Corey Field & Barry I. Slotnick. Updated annually. KF4290 .F54 (Second Floor) Also on Lexis

Entertainment Law: Legal Concepts and Business Practices. Thomas D. Selz, et al. Another comprehensive source that touches on issues not covered by other sources here On Westlaw

Contracts for the Film and Television Industry (3rd ed.). Mark Litwak. 80 sample contracts with analysis. KF4302 .L58 2012 (Second Floor)

Filing for Copyright

Nimmer on Copyright. Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer. Generally considered to be the leading treatise on U.S. copyright law, this 11-volume set is updated annually. Chapter 21 contains Copyright Office forms and related materials and Chapter 23 focuses on copyright issues surrounding motion pictures. KF2991.5 .N5 (Second Floor) Also on Lexis

Be sure also to consult the entertainment law resources above for coverage of copyright issues.

Setting Up Business Entities

Selecting and Forming Business Entities (2nd ed.). Brad J. Brigante, et al. Two volume set, updated annually. KFC339 .S45 (First Floor) Also on CEB OnLAW

Organizing Corporations in California (3rd ed.). Keith W. McBride & Debra Nicholson. Two volume set, updated annually. KFC345 .O72 (First Floor) Also on CEB OnLAW 

Forming and Operating California Limited Liability Companies (2nd. ed.). Gary L. Bradus, et al. Updated annually. KFC339.5 F672 (First Floor) Also on CEB OnLAW 

California Secretary of State Business Programs. Forms and filing tips.

Check out CEB OnLAW for more transactional and practice management resources specific to California.