Skip to main content
libguides-logo

Study Aids

This guide provides a listing of all study aids available to Fowler School of Law students, including those available online through West Academic and those available in print in the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library.

Acing

The Acing series provides checklists, rather than outlines, to help students study the law.

Black Letter Outlines

This series provides (as the name implies) outlines of the black letter law.

Concepts & Insights

This series provides overviews of the law, like a hornbook but much shorter.

Concise Hornbooks

This series provides outlines of legal concepts followed by examples and analyses discussing those concepts.

Emanuel CrunchTime

This series provides flowcharts as a study tool, along with brief "capsule summaries" of important legal concepts and practice multiple choice and short-answer questions.

Exam Pro

This series provides sample objective (multiple choice) or essay questions and answers. The title will designate which type of questions the book contains.

Examples & Explanations

This series provides overviews of legal concepts and then provides examples illustrating those concepts.

Gilbert Law Summaries

This series provides summaries of legal subjects in outline form.

Glannon Guides

This series provides brief overviews of legal concepts followed by multiple choice questions illustrating those concepts.

High Court Case Summaries

This series provides brief overviews of all cases within a given textbook. This guide notes which textbook the study aid is "keyed" to.

Hornbooks

Hornbooks provide in-depth discussion of specific areas of law.

Kaplan PMBR Finals

This series provides outlines and practice multiple choice questions.

Legalines

This series provides brief overviews of all cases within a given textbook. This guide notes which textbook the Legalines is "keyed" to.

Mastering

This series provides detailed explanations of legal concepts in narrative form.

Nutshells

This series provides narrative-style overviews of particular areas of law in a more brief and casual form than traditional hornbooks.

Questions & Answers

As the name implies, this series provides sample multiple choice and short answer questions.

Short & Happy Guides

This series provides brief and light-hearted overviews of subjects.

Siegel's

This series provides practice essay and multiple choice questions.

Stories

This series provides in-depth information on the "stories" behind landmark legal cases.

Sum & Substance Audio

This series provides audio lectures.

Sum & Substance Quick Review

This series provides outlines of the law.

Understanding

This series provides in-depth narrative-style overviews of the law.