This is a comprehensive list of databases and other electronic resources, selected by the Librarians, to assist you in conducting various types of legal research.
The most frequently-used databases
California Legislative InformationThis link opens in a new windowThis website provides access to the official California Codes and bills. Bill information goes back to 1993. Other legislative publications starting with the 2017 session are also available including the Daily File, Senate and Assembly histories, and the Legislative Index.
CEB ProThis link opens in a new windowLegal research database with federal and state primary authority, a citator, secondary sources, practice guides, and CLE and non-CLE learning programs. Access is restricted to current Fowler School of Law students. To get a student authorization code to set up a CEB Pro account, email email@example.com.
Law 360This link opens in a new windowNews service for lawyers covering litigation developments, major lawsuits, court decisions, class action developments and large law firm transactions.
Leatherby Non-Legal DatabasesThis link opens in a new windowLeatherby Libraries provides access to numerous non-legal databases across a number of subjects. Resources include journals, e-books, dissertations, streaming audio & video, and primary sources.
New York TimesThis link opens in a new windowAll current Chapman University students and staff can register for access to the New York Times online. Click the link for more information.
Wall Street JournalThis link opens in a new windowAll current Chapman University students, faculty, and staff can register for access to the Wall Street Journal online. Click the link for more information.
New or Updated Resources
The following databases are newly acquired or recently updated.
California Digital Newspaper CollectionThis link opens in a new windowA project of UC Riverside, this collection contains more than 300 digitized newspapers in a full-text searchable database. Coverage is from 1846-present, although access varies by title.
Chronicling AmericaThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,800 digitized, searchable newspapers across all 50 states. Coverage is between 1770-1963, but access varies by title.