All things AI

Summary explanations of “Practical Guidance for the Use of Generative Artificial Intelligence in the Practice of Law” by California Lawyers Association. Covers confidentiality rules, competence and diligence rules, and discusses other ethical issues arising from AI use in the profession.

The ABA created the AI Task Force in order to better monitor the impact of AI on the legal profession. It provides information and resources on the use and development of AI in legal education and the legal profession. The Task Force also provides resources on the ethical and professional use of AI tools.

Provides an overview of the implementation of AI in the legal profession and how it is affecting the work legal professionals do using data gathered from law firms and professionals across the country..

This article discusses when and how the use of AI for research and publication should be disclosed. The authors examine various AI use policies employed by publishers and research organizations as well as the ethical reasons behind the need for AI use disclosure. They provide criteria for when AI use should be disclosed based on this analysis.

This report from the New York City Bar Association's Presidential Task Force on Aritifical Intelligence and Digital Technologies compiles recent ethics opinions on the use of GenAI from bar associations across the United States including the American Bar Association.

This website provides information on the AI tools available at Chapman University and guidelines for their use in research and in the classroom.

Westlaw's resources for help with using CoCounsel. The center offers access to training on how to use various CoCounsel features. It also offers information on how to use various features of the product.

Provides information about Lexis+AI programs and videos on how to perform a variety of tasks with the AI tool.

The article provides a practical framework for lawyers to improve their AI interactions while maintaining professional standards, showing that mastery of prompting techniques can significantly reduce time to work product without sacrificing accuracy.

This eBook provides practical frameworks for crafting effective prompts while examining the technology architecture behind generative AI, offering legal professionals without technical backgrounds a clear pathway to becoming AI-fluent in their daily practice.

This article breaks down AI prompting into six practical elements showing how effective prompting is an extension of research planning skills. By emphasizing the importance of pre-planning and understanding your AI system's limitations before drafting prompts, it transforms what seems intimidating into a structured, familiar process that significantly improves the quality of AI-generated results.