What is your access policy for alumni?
Access to the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library is available to:
Fowler School of Law alumni must stop by the Circulation or Research Desks when entering the Law Library and present government-issued identification. Library hours and contact information can be found on the Law Library's homepage.
Access to the Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library is not currently permitted for other users. All others are encouraged to visit the Orange County Public Law Library at 515 N. Flower St., Santa Ana, (714) 338-6790.
What databases can I access remotely?
Remote access to the following databases is available to Fowler School of Law alumni immediately after graduation. Please review the chart below for information on using Bloomberg, Lexis, and Westlaw following graduation from the Fowler School of Law:
| Database | Graduate Access |
| Bloomberg | Continuing unlimited, unrestricted access for any purpose for 6 months following graduation date. No additional sign-up needed. |
| Lexis+ | Automatic Lexis+ access for 6 months, excluding public records. |
| Westlaw |
Continuing access for 18 months after graduation, for up to 60 hours a month if you enroll in Grad Elite. May not use for research that is billed to a client. |
| CEB | Students must sign up for CEB accounts while still in law school to obtain graduate access. Graduates with a CEB account will keep their access for 18 months after graduation. |
| Law360 | Alumni Group access through EZproxy login |
| HeinOnline | Alumni Group access through EZproxy login |
The Law Library also maintains a comprehensive list of free legal research resources on our A-Z List.
What databases can I access in-person?
We are working with campus IT to open our public computers to Chapman alumni so that additional legal research databases can be made available on site. The library’s website will be updated with that information when it becomes possible.
The Orange County Public Law Library in Santa Ana provides access to primary authority and secondary sources online through their public computers. Visit its Databases webpage for more information.
May I borrow materials?
Yes. Fowler School of Law and Chapman University alumni may borrow circulating material from the collection. To obtain borrowing privileges, please contact us or ask at the Circulation Desk. Alumni are responsible for all items checked out on their library account.
Do you have MCLE self-study materials?
The Law Library does not collect recent MCLE self-study materials.
Can I access the wifi?
Alumni may connect to wifi on the "Chapman Open" wireless network. Simply connect on your device and accept the terms and conditions to get started. Information on device registration for Chapman Open is available from the Chapman IS&T Wireless Network webpage.
For alumni who have Eduroam at another institution you can connect to Chapman's Eduroam wifi using your existing institution's username and password.
The library cannot troubleshoot issues with the wireless network. We suggest you send an email to servicedesk@chapman.edu or call (714) 997-6600 with your issue.
Do you have computers I can use?
The library has four public workstations, which are currently restricted to Chapman students, faculty, and staff. We are working on opening these workstations to alumni and will update this section when it becomes possible. Alumni are advised to bring their own computers to use in the library.
Where can I make copies?
There is a copier on the first floor of the Law Library. Copies cost $0.10 per page.
Can I print in the library?
Yes. Alumni may print in the library using the Wepa print kiosk located on the first floor. Printing is $0.10/sheet (black and white) or $0.50/side (color). Documents can be accessed from cloud storage sites such as OneDrive, Dropbox, or Google Drive, or from a USB stick. The Wepa kiosk accepts credit or debit cards.
May I reserve a study room for bar preparation?
Fowler School of Law alumni preparing for the Bar Exam may reserve study rooms during the Summer semester. Please contact the Circulation Desk for assistance at (714) 628-2552. Study room access is limited to currently enrolled students during the academic year (August-May).
Can you advise on legal research?
We can help brainstorm research strategies, suggest resources to try, show you how to use a database, and more - just ask us! Research Librarians are available for remote consults, by phone (714-628-2548), and by email (lawresearch@chapman.edu).
© 2022 Fowler School of Law, Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library. All Rights Reserved.