LibGuides: Legal Research Basics: Legislative History

Federal Legislative History Documents

Legislative history essentially refers to the documents produced by Congress before a bill became enacted. This includes things like bills, floor debate, committee hearings, etc. Use this cheat sheet to help you find these materials. If (and only if) these options fail, search for the document in the Law Library catalog, as you may be able to view and print it on microform.

Congressional Bills

Congress.gov: 1973 -
Govinfo.gov: 1993 -
ProQuest Congressional: 1789 -

Congressional Hearings

Govinfo.gov: selected from 1985 -
HeinOnline: selected from 1889 -
ProQuest Legislative Insight: selected legislative histories
ProQuest Congressional: selected from 1824 -

Congressional Record

Congress.gov: 1995 -
Govinfo.gov: 1994 -
HeinOnline: complete

Congressional Committee Reports

Congress.gov: 1995 -
Govinfo.gov: 1995 -
ProQuest Legislative Insight: selected legislative histories
ProQuest Congressional: selected from 1789 -

Select Compiled Legislative Histories

Legislative Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 18,000 compiled federal legislative histories from 1929 to the present, including (as searchable PDFs) all versions of bills, legislative documents, CRS reports, committee hearings, reports and prints, and presidential signing statements.

Congressional Bills

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
This website provides access to congressional bills, information on congressional committees, and the Congressional Record.

Congressional Bills (govinfo)
Text of bills from 1993-present
Congressional Bills (ProQuest Congressional)
1789 -present

Congressional Hearings

Hearings (govinfo)
Selected from 1985 -present
Hearings (HeinOnline)
selected from 1889 -present

Congressional Research Digital Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes information on congressional publications back to 1789, including full-text of bills and resolutions from 1789, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports and prints from 1830, and selected committee reports, prints, and other documents from 1789.

Congressional Record

Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
This website provides access to congressional bills, information on congressional committees, and the Congressional Record.

Congressional Record (govinfo)
1994 -present
Congressional Record (HeinOnline)
Complete coverage

Congressional Committee Reports

Congressional Research Digital Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes information on congressional publications back to 1789, including full-text of bills and resolutions from 1789, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports and prints from 1830, and selected committee reports, prints, and other documents from 1789.